Exercise for Clunker Bodies

Why should you exercise? 

Exercise dramatically improves your health!!!

What types of benefits should you expect to receive from exercising?

Improved energy level, improved cholesteral levels, improved blood pressure levels, improved muscle to fat ratio,  improved appearance, improved self-confidence level, improved cash-in-your-pocket because of decreased medical expenses, improved life-expectancy.  The list of improvements you would receive goes on-and on.

Exercise dramatically decreases your liklihood for acquiring major health problems, such as Diabetes, Neuropathy, Heart Attacks, Strokes, Cancer, Blood Clots and other types of clunker health problems.

Even though most people have heard about all of the benefits they could receive from exercising regularly, they, never motivate themselves to exercise regularly.

I, unfortunately, was diagnosed with a brain tumor 2 1/2 years ago.   I was immediately placed on steroids to decrease the swelling around my left eye and brain tumor.  The steroids caused me to become very hungry 24 hours each day.  I consumed much more food during that time than I ordinarily would and I had to lay around for 2 1/2 months.  Once I was taken off of the steroids and was trying to return to being active; I couldn’t believe how horrible my entire body felt.  I wondered if that is how a lot of people feel all of the time.  I didn’t understand how anyone could stand to feel that way all of the time.  I realized then, how important, staying active is.

My brain tumor was biopsied and determined to be non-cancerous.  It is a type of tumor that I was either born with, or it began developing when I was a young child. 

While I was trying to get rid of my excess weight; I realized first- hand how difficult it is for someone who is completely out of shape to begin an exercise program.

I wasn’t able to do much exercise when I first started walking on a nature trail.  I was getting lots of sore muscles and I was feeling wiped-out for a couple of days after each workout. 

I had to listen to my body throughout my journey.  It was important for me to know when to do easy exercises, when to do more strenuous exercises and when to let my body rest and recover.

It was important for me to realize that I shouldn’t expect my out-of-shape 43 year old body to be able to do what it could do when I was in shape and 20 years old.

It was also important for me to realize that I needed to incorporate regular activity into my life permanently; therefore, I needed to design an exercise program for myself that would give me the results I wanted and would not be so difficult that I would lose interest in the program.

The goal for anyone who is just beginning an exercise program should be to increase how much exercise they are able to do gradually over time. 

Athletes who are in-shape typically alternate intense workouts with easy workouts or alternate which muscle groups they are exercising.  Even top athletes need to rest completely some days in order to let their bodies recover.

Athletes who are desperate to improve their performance level sometimes exercize too much.  Excessive exercise burns fat and muscle.   Anyone who wants to imrove their physical abilities needs to be careful to not exercise so much that they are burning muscle. 

One pound of muscle burns approximately 35 calories per day.  One pound of fat burns approximately 2 calories per day.  Accumulating muscle is one of the ways someone can increase their metabolism and keep lost weight from returning.

People who are just beginning an exercise program should do whatever exercise they prefer to do that they think they will be able to keep doing for a long time.  Walking is a very popular exercise for people who have not been exercising.  If you choose walking as your exercise; on your first day, you should do whatever amount of walking it will take to give you some sore muscles.

You probably won’t want to do any walking for exercise the next day or 2 after your first day.  Listen to your body.  Once your sore muscles have healed.  Walk again, a little bit more the next time.  If you have sore muscles from walking this time, let your body recuperate before you walk for exercise again.  Keep returning to your exercise routine every time your body feels like it has once again recovered. 

This process of overworking your muscles, then letting them repair and rebuild themselves will burn lots of extra calories even after you have stopped exercising. 

Don’t let sore muscles discourage you.  Remind yourself that those sore muscles are burning extra calories.

Over time, you will be able to keep increasing how much exercise you are able to do.  Once you are able to do significantly more exercise; you, may want to start doing a variety of different types of exercises in an attempt to build as many different muscles as you can.

When you do exercises that work the largest muscles in your body, for example your thigh muscles and your back muscles, you are burning more calories than when you are exercising the smaller muscles in your body.

Exercises that are considered to be whole body exercises (walking, jogging, sprinting, squatting + raising weights over your head and swimming are some examples) tend to burn significantly more calories than exercises that work individual or small groups of muscles.

Keep in mind that you won’t realize dramatic results from exercise if you exercise regularly for one week.  Exercising regularly for several months can produce dramatic results in a persons health, physical appearance and mental attitude.  Exercising regularly for several consecutive years can result in phenominal changes in a persons physical and mental well-being.  When you are considering exercising, you shouldn’t think too much about how the exercise will make you feel in the short run (even though exercize will give you an after workout mini-high), you should think about how the exercising will make you feel in the long run.

Reverse aging and avoid having a clunker body.  Exercise is the fountain of youth.  It really can alleviate, postpone and / or eliminate many health problems.

Written by:  Dawn Perucca
www.thesoccerlockersite.com
www.dawnperucca.com

5 Responses to “Exercise for Clunker Bodies”

  1. Exercise for Clunker Bodies « Starchycarb123's Blog | braincancertherapy Says:

    […] Read this article: Exercise for Clunker Bodies « Starchycarb123's Blog […]

  2. Exercise for Clunker Bodies « Starchycarb123's Blog | backexercises Says:

    […] Follow this link: Exercise for Clunker Bodies « Starchycarb123's Blog […]

  3. starchycarb123 Says:

    I should have also mentioned in my article. Exercise improves overall health. Even if you have some aches and pains that will not go away. Don’t think you need to rest all of the time to make your aches and pains go away. The extra blood circulation and numerous other great things that happen when you exercise will help heal the aches and pains while it improves lots of other stuff.

  4. Dryer Vent Cleaning Says:

    This site rocks!

  5. Bill Bartmann Says:

    Excellent site, keep up the good work. I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,

    A definite great read.. 🙂

    -Bill-Bartmann

Leave a Reply

