So You Think You Can Dance, June 24th, Top 16

Written by:  Dawn Perucca

Once again, I am going to rank the Couples on So You Think You Can Dance in 3 categories because I really didn’t have a favorite.  There were 4 routines that I absolutely loved and they will all be in my Most Impressive Couples Category.

I am ranking the following couples in the Most Impressive Category:

Ade Obayomi & Melissa Sandrig: 
WOW, that was hot and steamy.  I thought they were both phenominal and I loved the Choreography.

Evan Kaspirzak & Randi Evans:
Well, of course, I loved the choreography.  I love stuff that is weird, quirky and entertaining.  I thought they both danced it extremely well.

Brandon Bryant & Janette Manrara:
I was extremely surprised by both of them.  They both danced hip hop way better than I thought they would.  They both had attitude.  They were relating to each other.  They were together.  I thought it was great.

Kupono Aweau & Kayla Radomski:
I loved the choreography.  I thought Kayla was breathtaking to watch.  I think this new partnership is a good one.  They seem to dance really well together.  I thought Kupono could have danced a little more masculine, but, overall, did a great job.  I really enjoyed watching this routine.

This week, I am placing 3 couples in the Middle of the Pack Category.

Phillip Chbeeb & Jeanine Mason:

I loved the choreagraphy for this dance too.  I thought Jeanine was awesome (a class act).  I thought Phillip was much better this week than last week, however, I thought he was dragging her down.  I really hope Phillip will be able to improve on these other dance styles because I would really love to see him do more hip hop and popping.  I don’t want to see him go home yet.

Vitolio Jeune & Asuka Kondoh:

I thought she was really fun to watch & I was impressed by her dancing.  I wasn’t getting as excited about him, though, and I am not sure why.  I know the judges were really pleased with him, yet, when I compare him to Ade, for example, I think Ade is leaps and bounds ahead of him.

Jason Glover & Caitlyn Kinney:
I thought she was phenominal.  I thought he was lacking posture and rigidity some of the time.  I got the impression that he needed more time to prepare for tonight. 

In my Not Quite-Up-To-Par Category, I am placing 1 couple:

Jonathon Platero & Karla Garcia:
They were not in synch.  They were not dancing together.  I got the impression that they were not comfortable with dancing hip hop.  I was disappointed because I thought the dance they did last week was really incredible.  Many of these dancers have not been able to get the hang of hip hop this year.  It seems like Phillip Chbeeb is the only one this year who can dance anything like Twitch did last season.

Written by:  Dawn Perucca

www.thesoccerlockersite.com
www.dawnperucca.com

Leave a Reply

